Grocery List

So today I went shopping.   I don’t think I am going to use the Hamburger Helper or leftover Zatarina Jambayala box mixes anymore as I want to start eating healthy, Insha Allah.  Insha Allah is Arabic for ‘God Willing’.   So I bought the following:

2 pears

1 thing of bananas

3 for $10 12-cases of Dr. Pepper (a nice pick me up since I don’t drink coffee)

1 24-case Pepsi

12 boxes Velveeta Shells and Cheese (to make up for Ramadan’s fasting, I need something quick  and easy to make)

1 galleon of milk

3 boxes of cereal (Cocoa Pebbles, Fruity Pebbles and Frosted Flakes)

1 bag of skinless boneless chicken thighs

1 bag of skinless boneless chicken breasts with rib meat

4 jars of Spaghetti Sauce

3 1-galleon things of Orange Juice

2 1-galleon things of Sweet Ice Tea

1 bag of seedless red grapes

2 1-liters of Dark Chocolate Almond Milk (from my understanding, anything not cow’s milk is better for a person’s body)

1 2-quart thing of V8 Berry Blend Splash

1 2-quart thing of V8 Watermelon Cherry (it’s new so I decided to try it)

4 oranges

2 pears

2 peaches

2 Necterines

At home I have:

2 cans of chickpeas

1 can of coconut milk

3 boxes of sphagetti

1 bag of Basamti Rice

1 bag of White Rice

1 bag of low-fat Asiago rice

1 bottle of soy sauce

2 bags of popcorn left (snack)

1 jar of strawberry jam (smuckers)

5 boxes of penne pasta

hamburger meat (not sure how much left)

1 bag of broccoli

a few bags of peas

2 things of frozen Beef Lo Mein (which I might use for Ramadan make up)

Lots of Tea packs (which I need to drink)

I think 4 boxes of hot chocolate

Tomato Soup, Chicken Noodle Soup, 2 cans of Chicken Gumbo soup, Vegetable Beef (Campbells) and some other soup can that I would need to move stuff around to see what it is

3 lbs of Beef Stew Meat (2 lbs for Irish Beef Stew which I plan on making at some point)

1 carton of Dates (Dates are how the Prophet (Salla Allahu Alyahi was Salaam) broke his fast during Ramadan.  They are an acquired taste.

Some Cube Steak

I think 2 more things of Beef Steak that is frozen

Small jar of mushrooms

A couple cans of diced tomatoes

A small can of tomato paste

Taco kits (probably won’t use those)

Some canned fruit (which I don’t eat)

1 can of Cream of Mushroom Soup (that is for a recipe)

1 thing of Beef Stock

1 thing of Chicken Stock

1 thing of Vegetable Stock

1 can of black beans

1 can of red kidney beans

1 can of vegetarian black beans

1 pack of frozen hot dogs

1 jar of kroger creamy peanut butter

1 jar of kroger chunky peanut butter

2 things of Spicy Brown Mustard

1 thing of Orego’s mid chunky salsa

1 thing of onion soup and dip mix

1 9 FL OZ jar of Sichuan Chili Spicy Ma La Sauce (Mr. Wong’s Oriental Wok Spicy Asian Sauces)-This was hard to find in Krogers, I had to go to the Latin American aisle to get it

A couple cans of Tomato Sauce

Some Spices (Coriander Seed, Rosemary, Sage, Cumin, Oregano, Ground Ginger, Basil, Marjoram, Cilantro)

Two bags of Butterball Ready to Roast boneless skinless turkey breast with gravy packets (maybe I should have bought a jar of turkey gravy)

My problem isn’t the ingredients.  My problem is the last time I was in Home Economics was in 12th grade and the cooking was only part of the term with sewing being the other half.  There are no cooking classes here either and I need to decide what exactly it is I want to cook and then get the ingredients for it.  I want to try to do slow-cooker meals as they’re easiest.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

